To view this notification widget you need to have JavaScript enabled. This notification widget was easily created with NotifySnack.
Lend Your Subconscious Heart To "This Bright Before" by Nicole Berke
Lend Your Subconscious Heart To "This Bright Before" by Nicole Berke

NICOLE BERKE's full-length album THIS BRIGHT BEFORE is the long awaited follow-up to the pianist/vocalist's acclaimed debut EP FRONDESCENCE, which was released in 2008. The new record dynamically chronicles the last five years of her life with genuine power, originality and soul. Recorded by Portland favorites Dave Friedlander, Steve Watkins and Tanner Cundy, the album also features a talented slew of local musicians: Josh Lava (who also played an integral role in producing and engineering the record), Nathaniel Daniel, Arcellus Sykes, Bill Marsh, Jarrod Lawson, Max Ribner, Mary-Sue Tobin, and many more. Hailing influence from artists such as Stevie Wonder, Fiona Apple and Erykah Badu, Berke's music is a fresh and well-crafted take on what soul-pop-jazz can be.

released 25 January 2013

(c) 2013 Nicole Berke Music/ASCAP. All Rights Reserved.

All Songs Written by Nicole Berke

Produced & Arranged by Josh Lava and Nicole Berke
Production Consultant: Denise Marsa

Nicole Berke: Vocals, Backup Vocals, Acoustic Piano, Wurlitzer, Rhodes, Clavinet, Organ, Additional Percussion
Josh Lava: Drums, Percussion, Synths, Effects, Organ, Rhodes, Clavinet, Acoustic Piano (Black Moon, Those Days), Backup Vocals (Palindrome, Another World, This Bright Before), Additional Acoustic & Electric Guitars
Bill Marsh: Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Effects
Nathaniel Daniel: Electric Bass (Subconscious Heart, Wait It Out, Black Moon, That Ain’t Me, Heartbeat)
Arcellus Sykes: Electric & Acoustic Bass (Palindrome, Another World, Set Me Free, This Bright Before)
Jarrod Lawson: Backup Vocals (Wait It Out, Black Moon, That Ain’t Me, Set Me Free)

Max Ribner: Flugelhorn, Trumpet (Wait It Out, Black Moon, Set Me Free)
Mary-Sue Tobin: Tenor and Baritone Sax (Black Moon, Set Me Free)

Lucia Conrad: Violin (Subconscious Heart, Palindrome)
Ben Landsverk: Viola (Subconscious Heart, Palindrome)
Tony Rogers: Cello (Subconscious Heart, Palindrome, That Ain’t Me)

RECORDED by Dave Friedlander at Kung Fu Bakery, Tanner Cundy at Klickitat Band Camp, Steve Watkins at Excellent Gentlemen Studio & Josh Lava at LavaLand

MIXED by Sean O’Keefe
MASTERED by Greg Rierson at Rareform Mastering

PHOTOS by Amy Rollo (Front & Back) and Nicole Berke (Inside & Disc, Album Design)

SUBCONSCIOUS HEART inspired by the poem “The Hollow Men” by T.S. Eliot

0 comments for this post

Blog Widget by LinkWithin