To view this notification widget you need to have JavaScript enabled. This notification widget was easily created with NotifySnack.
In Hip Hop, The "Earth Rocks Harder" With The Sound Of Philadelphia Slick
In Hip Hop, The "Earth Rocks Harder" With The Sound Of Philadelphia Slick

By JR on 1:15 PM

Filed Under: , ,

"Since their formation in 2005, Philadelphia Slick has built a rep for continuing the local tradition of mixing live band energy with hip hop.  Much like Philadelphia’s The Roots, Slick is fronted by an MC – Ben “Noesis” Polinsky – but the seven-piece band that backs him (along with producer El Smooth) is as important as the rapper himself.

The group recently released its long-awaited album Earth Rocks Harder and it’s a solid listen full of creative production and lyrical insight.  Very Beastie Boys in style and delivery, Philadelphia Slick crafts a sound that can be at times raw, utilizing record scratches and boom-bap beats, but at other times so poppy and electric that it broadens their style of hip-hop all together.  Joining the label BadTape Music wasn’t a bad call for the collective either, as the influence of the label that worked with underground MCs like Jedi Mind Tricks shows.

The 14-track album goes through a roller coaster of vibes and topics that in the end provide for a very balanced and universal listen.  Noteable tracks are “Not At All” and “Project Total Yang”; they’re completely different in sound but still appeal to the same true-to-form subject matter that we’re used to hearing from Philadelphia Slick." - The Key Philadelphia

Written, Produced, and Arranged by Philadelphia Slick except "State of Your Plate" - written and produced by Ismael Quintero.

Vocals - Noesis
Piano + Keyboards - Elliot Garland, Michael Polinsky, Noesis
Bass - Michael Polinsky, Elliot Garland
Drums - Elliot Garland
Guitar - Elliot Garland, Ismael Quintero
Saxophone - Matthew Schwartz, Noesis
Trumpet - Adam Hershberger
Cuts and Scratches - Ismael Quintero

Mixed by Matthew Weiss
Mastered by Chris Athens
Recorded at Badtape Music Studio B, Kawari Sound, and Milkboy The Studio. Drum recording by Zach Goldstein & Matthew Weiss. The Skyline: Session Producer - Matthew Weiss; Vocal Recording: Karl Petersen; Additional Recording - John "JBrix" DiGiacomo and Zach Goldstein.

0 comments for this post

Blog Widget by LinkWithin